Audi is aiming high at 24 hours titles in 2016

Audi not only have their wellknown Le Mans programme, but also a big GT programme. That programme is primarily run by costumer teams such as Audi Sport Team Phoenix and Audi Sport Team WRT.

Audi won Nürburgring 24h in 2015 and had 2 cars on the podium at Spa 24h.

The driver lineups will be slightly adjusted for 2016, but the goals are still the same. To win the races.

For the race in The Green Hell on May 28th and 29th, 3 of the 2015 winners will team up again. The winners Christopher Mies, Nico Müller, Laurens Vanthoor will be joined by Pierre Kaffer, who replaces Edward Sandström in the Audi Sport Team WRT car. At Audi Sport Team Phoenix, Christopher Haase, René Rast, Frank Stippler and Markus Winkelhock will be behind the wheel.

Audi Sport Team Phoenix will also enter a second car with Stippler and Anders Fjordbach and 2 yet to be named drivers.

For the 24 hour race at Spa Francorchamps on July 30th and 31st, there will be a slight mixup between the cars. Mies, Stippler and Winkelhock will be at Audi Sport Team Phoenix, while Rast, Müller, Kaffer and Vanthooer will drive the Audi R8 LMS for Audi Sport Team WRT.

WRT will enter a second car for Edward Sandström, Stuart Leonard, Frédéric Vervisch and Robin Frijns.

Audi R8 LMS #2 (Audi Sport Team WRT), Nico Müller/Stéphane Ortelli/Frank Stippler, Audi R8 LMS #5 (Audi Sport Team Phoenix), Christian Mamerow/Christopher Mies/Nicki Thiim, Audi R8 LMS #6 (Audi Sport Team Phoenix), Marcel Fässler/André Lotterer/Mike Rockenfeller, Audi R8 LMS #1 (Audi Sport Team WRT), René Rast/Laurens Vanthoor/Markus Winkelhock
Photo: AUDI AG

Related Posts