Joey Mawson ADAC Formula 4 Championship 2016

Australian Joey Mawson is ADAC Formula 4 Champion 2016.

The Van Amersfoort Racing driver took the title in the first race of the weekend, where he took a commanding win.

Throughout the season he’s been in a battle with Mick Schumacher, but has lead the championship ever since the first race of the year.

He followed up with another win Saturday afternoon in race 2, while Sunday’s race ended pointless after being taken off by a competitor.

Joey Mawson Photo: JJ Media
Joey Mawson
Photo: JJ Media

Mawson also competed in ADAC Formula 4 in 2015 where he finished P3 after Marvin Dienst, that has done ADAC GT Masters this year and Joel Eriksson, that has continued in Formula 3 where he has won Masters of Formula 3 at Zandvoort.

With 10 out of 24 possible victories and another 6 podium visits for Mawson, his season has been very consistent.

It was close at being the double for Van Amerfoort Racing, because they only needed another 4,5 points for also taking the teams championship. Instead that was won by Prema Powerteam – the team that Schumacher drives for. It was Schumacher who took the final win of the year, and therefore secured the title to the Italian team.

Dane Nicklas Nielsen won the Rookietitle ahead of Juri Vips and Juan Manuel Correa. The Dane has done a combination of ADAC Formula 4 and Audi Sport TT Cup, and is already tipped for a role within Audi Sport next year, after some successful tests in their GT3 car.

Nicklas Nielsen Photo: JJ Media
Nicklas Nielsen
Photo: JJ Media

Now we have half a year until season starts again in April – however all teams will likely be out testing new potential drivers throughout the winter months, to find their new drivers for the 2017 season.

Related Posts