Stability at BMW in DTM 2017

BMW has chosen to go with stability at the DTM 2017 driver line-up.

A previously mentioned here at, there will be a reduction of the number of cars by all the DTM contructors for 2017, so from next year they will each only enter six cars.

That meant that Martin Tomczyk and Antonio Felix Da Costa no longer had a DTM seat, as it was announced prior to the DTM finale at Hockenheim in October.

The other six drivers are still in the programme, though with a revised line-up by the teams. Only two teams will now field the 6 drivers for BMW in DTM.

Munich (DE), 9th December 2016. BMW Motorsport Season Review,Marco Wittmann (DE), Timo Glock (DE), Stefan Reinhold (DE) Team Principal BMW Team RMG and Augusto Farfus (BR) DTM 2017.
Photo: BMW Motorsport

Timo Glock, Marco Wittmann and Augusto Farfus will be driving for BMW Team RMG, whilst Maxime Martin, Tom Blomqvist and Bruno Spengler will participate with BMW Team RBM.

BMW holds the current DTM drivers champion in the shape of Marco Wittmann. They missed out on both contructors and the team titles, so naturally it’s their aim to claim all three titles in 2017.

Munich (DE), 9th December 2016. BMW Motorsport Season Review, Maxime Martin (BE), Tom Blomqvist (GB), Bart Mampaey (DE) Team Principal BMW RBM and Bruno Spengler (CA) DTM 2017.
Photo: BMW Motorsport

The six drivers will participate in a brand new version of the BMW M4 DTM. A car that was tested earlier this month at Jerez.

Martin Tomczyk and Antonio Felix Da Costa along with Alexander Sims will do the development for BMW’s new FIA WEC race car – more details of that will be revealed at a later stage. So they are still a part of the BMW family. Furthermore Tomczyk and Sims will be driving in IMSA in the GT category for BMW.

The DTM season starts on May 5th-7th at Hockenheim, but until then there will be plenty of testing going on. The next one will be at the end of February at Portimao.

Related Posts