Auer takes second win of the year

Lucas Auer took the second win in three races, when he won the Saturday DTM race at Lausitzring.

From Pole Position he kept the lead all the way through the race and held of any challenge from Robert Wickens and Rene Rast.

Wickens started second but was overtaken by Maxime Martin during the race. But the Belgian driver couldn’t keep up his pace all the way through the race, and ended up being overtaken by both Wickens and Rast.

Behind these four there were more changes happening. Loic Duval made a jump start and got a time penalty for that. Tom Blomqvist and Paul Di Resta had a collision, which gave Di Resta a drive-through penalty.

Lucas Auer, Mercedes-AMG C63 DTM
Photo: JJ Media

Timo Glock was well up the field, until the mechanics had problems with a wheel during the mandatory pitstop. That cost him the possibility to get points in the race.

Mike Rockenfeller and Gary Paffett could only laugh about their competitors misfortune, and finished 5th and 6th respectively.

Nico Müller had to retire from the race 9 laps from the end, when he encountered problems with the brakes on his Audi.

The race had Auer/Wickens at the front with two Mercedes-AMG C63 DTM, followed by a group of Audi RS5 DTM cars mixing it up. Maxime Martin was actually the only BMW M4 DTM in top 10, where Glock were the second best in P11.

The second race of the weekend will be run tomorrow, Sunday.

Related Posts