Marcus Armstrong wins race 1 in Oschersleben

Kami Laliberte had taken Pole Position but stalled when the lights went out, and only managed to get going after losing a lot of positions. Fortunately nobody hit him, even though he was completely standstill.

That made Marcus Armstrong take over the lead, ahead of Jonathan Aberdein and Felipe Drugovich. Even though they had a close race on track, they finished in that way.

Julian Hanses started from P2 but had a bad start too, and fell far back in the rankings on the first lap.

Juan Manuel Correa dropped out of top 10, when he slid off the track on the second lap, and lost a lot of positions.

Markus Armstrong, Prema Powerteam
Photo: ADAC Motorsport

Championship leader Juri Vips was pushed hard by David Malukas in the battle for fifth. With only one minute left on the clock, Malukas went past Vips and thereby Vips lost even more points in the battle for the Championship lead compared to Drugovich.

Another Championship contender, Nicklas Nielsen, lost a lot of positions at the start, and was only P18 after lap one. He managed to gain three positions back, and finished 15th.

It went just the opposite way for Frederik Vesti, who started P17 but quickly made it up to 10th position. With 10 minutes left of the race, he overtook Michael Waldherr with a very brave manouvre into turn 1, and finished the race in ninth position.

Race 2 will be run later Saturday afternoon.

Related Posts