159 cars for VLN6

159 cars have entered VLN6 at the mythical Nordschleife.

A total of 17 cars have entered the SP9 class, where all the GT3 cars participates, and the class that most often than not delivers the overall winner of the race. Ferrari are back on the entry list, but this time it will be the Octane 126 AG team from Switzerland with Björn Grossmann and Alexander Müller as the two drivers. Falken Motorsports will only bring their Porsche, which was on the podium last time out, while Walkenhorst Motorsport brings a total for 3 BMW’s – 2 M6’s and a single Z4. Manthey Racing and Frikadelli Racing Team brings another 5 Porsche 911 GT3 R racecars, while Black Falcon returns with a Mercedes-AMG GT3, just like Haribo Racing Team Mercedes – AMG.

A brand new entry is Mücke Motorsport, who will enter a Mercedes too. It’s the very first time that the team enters the VLN, as they have traditionally focused more on DTM and ADAC GT Masters. Christian Hohenadel and Edoardo Mortara will be the two drivers.

Isert Motorsport KTM X-Bow GT4
Photo: Jan Brucke/VLN

There will be three Audi R8 LMS cars from each their own team. Car Collection Motorsport and Montaplast by Land Motorsport will bring one each, while Phoenix Racing has taken the short trip to the track for another race for their Blue and white R8 LMS.

Mercedes will be there again with their new GT4 car, which is entered in the SPX class, since it’s not yet homologated. Another car without homologation is the 2018 version of the BMW M6 GT3. Schnitzer Motorsport will give the racing debut to that car, which is basically the same, but with a few aero changes, plus another few bits here and there.

‘Dieter Schmidtmann’ Renault R.S.01
Photo: Jan Brucke/VLN

There will be a single Renault R.S.01 in the SPX class, gunning for the overall win, as they have been sniffing around the podium positions previously in this season.

Among the more unusual sights on the track, will be 4 KTM X-Bow GT4 cars, a KIA Cee’d GT/R – and of course the classic Opel Manta with the fox tail on the antenna.

The race will start on Saturday at 12.00 CET.

Related Posts