FIA WEC 2018/19 calendar and LMP1 rules confirmed

The FIA World Motorsport Council has confirmed the FIA WEC calendar for the 2018/19 season.

It is the exact one that FIA World Endurance Championship published themselves last week, but now it’s formally approved.

At the same time, the FIA WEC Sebring race has been specified regarding the duration and the name. It will be run over 1500 miles which is about 12 hours, depending on how much Full Course Yellow and Safety Cars.

Spirit of Race #55, ARC Bratislava #49, Dempsey-Proton Racing #77
Le Mans 2017
Photo: JJ Media

Furthermore it is confirmed that the LMP1 Hybrid and non-hybrid cars will be competing against each other on a level playing field from 2018 onwards, but the technical regulations will remain the same. There will be adjustments to the fuel flow of the cars, so they will have equal performance, but the Hybrid cars will still be able to do one more lap at Le Mans with their tank capacity.

The calendar will look like this:

5 May, 2018 – WEC 6 Hours of Spa – Belgium

16-17 June, 2018 – 24 Hours of Le Mans – France

19 August, 2018 – 6 Hours of Silverstone – United Kingdom

21 October, 2018 – 6 Hours of Fuji – Japan

18 November, 2018 – 6 Hours of Shanghai – China

16-17 March, 2019 – 1500 Miles of Sebring – USA

4 May, 2019 – WEC 6 Hours of Spa – Belgium

15-16 June, 2019 – 24 Hours of Le Mans – France

Related Posts