11 constructors ready for Formula E in 2019/20

The FIA has just confirmed the 11 constructors which will be on the tracks in the ABB FIA Formula E Championship 2019/20.

Nine of the constructors are the same, while Mercedes Benz and Porsche officially will enter the series.

When we talk constructors, it’s only on the drive train part, since both the chassis and the batteries are still mandatory from a single supplier.

The press release doesn’t state clearly if it’s still will be possible to run costumer cars, like Techeetah buys the current Renault e-dams drive train. It can both be good and bad if it’s a constructors-only championship. If one or more of the constructors decides to pull out, it might leave a big gap on the grid and economically for the organizers, like we have seen in other championships, when a constructor decides to leave.

ABB FIA Formula E Championship car Gen2

The next opportunity for new constructors to enter the Formula E championship is for the 2021/22 season, since the homologations runs for two years.

The 11 constructors for the 2019/20 season is:

– Audi Sport
– DS Automobiles
– Jaguar Land Rover
– Mahindra Racing
– Mercedes-Benz
– NextEV NIO
– Nissan
– Penske Autosport
– Porsche AG
– Venturi Automobiles

Related Posts