Formula E returns to China

The ABB FIA Formula E Championship returns to China, when the 5th season will be run throughout 2018/19.

The harbour city of Sanya in the southern part of China, on the island of Hainan, will be the location for the return for Formula E, doing their first race in China since 2015. Back then, it was Beijing being the host city, which actually also hosted the very first ever Formula E race in 2014.

The race will be run on 23 March, 14 days after Hong Kong once again hosting a round.

ABB FIA Formula E Championship Gen2 car
Photo: ABB FIA Formula E

When we saw the outlines of the 2018/19 calendar one month ago, 23 March was already noted as a TBA in China, but that gap has been filled now.

That leaves us with 26 January as the only TBA left. A race in South America is expected on that date, where Sao Paolo in Brazil really wants to host a race. But Punte del Este in Uruguay wants to host another ePrix, just like they did in the 2017/18 season when the Sao Paolo round was cancelled.

The 5th season of the ABB FIA Formula E Championship starts on 15 December in Ad Diriyah, Saudi Arabia.

Related Posts