Dixon remains at Chip Ganassi

Scott Dixon has signed a new multi-year deal at Chip Ganassi Racing, as announced by the team today.

The 4-time Indycar Champion, with 44 race wins to his CV has driven for the team since 2002, where the first season was in CART, before Chip Ganassi Racing went into the Indy Racing League in 2003.

The first Championship was won in 2003, while he had to wait until 2008 to grab his second. He was outdone by teammate Dario Franchitti for the next few seasons at CGR, but Dixon bounced back in 2013, and repeated it in 2015.

The Kiwi won Indy 500 only once, back in 2008.

But his success is not just limited to single-seaters, having won the Daytona 24 Hours overall in 2006 and 2015 with the CGR organisation. He won the race again this year, not overall but in GTLM for Ford Chip Ganassi Racing.

Scott Dixon, Ford Chip Ganassi Team USA
Photo: JJ Media

He was on the podium in the 24 Hours of Le Mans, but hasn’t gotten his first win just yet. In an exclusive interview with Racing24-7.net back in 2017, Dixon said that his goal was to win Le Mans, just like his fellow countrymen Bruce McLaren and Chris Amon. A class win of course would count too, but it would be really interesting to see him going head to head with Juan Pablo Montoya and Fernando Alonso for the overall Le Mans, but that is only a wishful thinking at the moment.

He is the third most winning driver in American motorsport ever, only topped by A. J. Foyt with 67 and Mario Andretti on 52. He has just crossed the 300-races barrier in Indycar, and if he grabs his 5th title this year, he will only be surpassed by A. J. Foyt and Rick Mears, who has 7 each.

Scott Dixon will be driving the PNC Bank Honda #9 for Chip Ganassi Racing again in 2019 – the same car that currently leads the Verizon IndyCar Series. They will be back on track again this weekend, where the race is held at the Pocono tri-oval.

Related Posts