Le Mans 2018 result finally confirmed

On this day, 2 October 2018, the confirmation of the 24 Hours of Le Mans, completed on the 17 July 2018, finally has been confirmed.

The confusion has been in the LMP2 category, where TDS Racing #28 and G-Drive #26 were disqualified from the race, since the technical scrutineers found some irregularity in the fuel rigs, which meant they could refuel their cars 6 to 9 seconds faster than anybody else.

The G-Drive Racing #26 was also run by the TDS Racing team, so that is why both cars were hit.

G-Drive Racing #26
Photo: JJ Media

The team protested the decision immediately afterwards, but it’s just now that the FIA Court Of Appeal has looked at the case.

TDS Racing #28 are full season entrants in the FIA WEC, while G-Drive Racing #26 takes part in the European Le Mans Series. #28 has dropped to last position in the LMP2 Championship, following their disqualification.

As a curiosity the G-Drive Racing #26 is already qualified for the Le Mans 2019, by winning the LMP2 Championship in the ELMS 2018.

#26 originally won the LMP2 category at Le Mans, while #28 finished 4th.

Signatech Alpine Matmut #36 are the “new” winners in the LMP2 category with Nicolas Lapierre, Andre Negrao and Pierre Thiriet, ahead of Graff #39 with Vincent Capillaire, Jonathan Hirschi and Tristan Gommendy, plus United Autosports #32 with Hugo De Sadeleer, Will Owen and Juan Pablo Montoya.

Related Posts