WTR with extra stars at Daytona

Konica Minolta Wayne Taylor Racing will enter an all star line-up at the Daytona 24 Hours race in 2019.

The team has confirmed Jordan Taylor and Renger van der Zande as their full season drivers through the full WeatherTech SportsCar Championship season, while there will be two extra drivers at the opening round.

Kamui Kobayashi and Fernando Alonso have been approved by Toyota Gazoo Racing to do this race for the team.

This will be the first time for Kobayashi to do this classic American race, while Alonso already had his debut in 2018 for United Autosports.

Konica Minolta Wayne Taylor Racing Cadillac #10
Photo Courtesy of IMSA / Jake Galstad

Kobayashi and Alonso race in separate Toyota Gazoo cars in the FIA World Endurance Championship, and will share a car for the first time at this event. The two have raced each other on-off for the last 10 seasons in Formula 1, and then met each other again at Toyota.

WTR won the race in 2017, and has very good cards on their hands to reclaim this win – if they are going to beat all the other DPi teams, and not the least all their fellow Cadillac DPi-V.R competitors, entered for the race.

The Rolex 24 At Daytona will be run on 26-27 January 2019.

Related Posts