Same old at Penske, plus Rossi

Five well known faces at Acura Team Penske will be present, when the IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship season starts at Daytona next month.

Dane Cameron and Juan Pablo Montoya will drive #6 throughout the full season, while they will have Simon Pagenaud alongside them for the 6, 10, 12 and 24 hours race.

We have Ricky Taylor and Helio Castroneves sharing #7 again, while their new teammate at Daytona and Sebring will be Alexander Rossi.

Rossi has experience from Formula 1 and a lot of other series, while the biggest win of his career came at the Indy 500 in 2016. He is a full season driver in Indycar for Andretti Autosport, but has Honda as engine supplier, and therefore gets the chance to try out the DPi car.

Graphics: Team Penske

It means the team is saying goodbye to Graham Rahal for now, who was the third driver in the #7 throughout 2018, at the endurance races. Rahal never really managed to match his teammates, which can be hard, when you only do four race weekends, compared to the 11 races that the colleagues do. But the team has opted to swap Rahal for Rossi.

Rossi had a single start at the 24 Hours of Le Mans, but that is all the way back in 2013, where he shared the Greaves Motorsport Zytek car with Tom Kimber-Smith and Eric Lux.

Rolex 24 at Daytona will be run on 26-27 January 2019.

Related Posts