No changes at Audi

There will be no changes at Audi Sport, when the 2019 DTM season starts in May.

Loic Duval, Robin Frijns, Jamie Green, Nico Müller plus the two DTM champions Mike Rockenfeller and Rene Rast will once again race for the German team.

It’s still Audi Sport Team Abt Sportsline, Team Phoenix and Team Rosberg running the six cars.

There will be a slight change, however, just like that the opposition from BMW and Aston Martin, will have to go for the new and more power full turbo engines.

The six drivers have a total of 32 DTM victories, 26 Pole Positions and 42 fastest laps.

The two weakest, if you can call any of these super drivers that, are Loic Duval and Rubin Frijns, who still have yet to take their first race wins – but both have been on the podium.

Jamie Green is the most victorious with 16 wins, but still lacks the first championship. The last few seasons has been hard for the Brit, but he has been very unlucky with the mechanical side of things, and often got involved in collisions with other drivers.

Loic Duval, Jamie Green, Robin Frijns, Mike Rockenfeller, Rene Rast, Nico Müller
Photo: Audi Motorsport

Nico Müller has an incredible skill to get the car to the chequered flag, and usually with a load of points in the bag. It’s rare that he is the best placed Audi driver, but he’s usually right behind the very best.

Rene Rast and Mike Rockenfeller are both former DTM Champions, and have been a constant threat for the points and podium positions. Rast had an amazing second half of 2018, where he raced his way to the second in the championship, and actually still had a chance of winning the title, if everything had come his way. But realistically the points were lost in the first half of the season, where Audi were no match for the Mercedes competition. But when Rast got a new car after his monster accident at Lausitzring in May, he slowly found his pace again, and ended up winning the last 6 races of the year – a new DTM record.

There will be two further Audi RS5 DTM cars on track, since the Belgium WRT team also enters two cars. They have not yet ready to announce the drivers.

Related Posts