New Dane in ADAC Formula 4

There will be a new Dane on the starting grid, when the ADAC Formula 4 Championship 2019 starts at Oschersleben at the end of April.

Oliver Rasmussen might not be a name that rings a bell amongst many race fans, but the 18 year-old Dane currently lives in the south of France.

Oliver started racing go-karts in 2013, and has since then competed in things like the Rotax jr Championships, where he finished third in the FFSA Championship in 2016.

One of his 2017 races was the WSK Final Cup, where he finished 7th in the closely fought field.

He jumped into a Formula 4 car for the 2018 season, where he did a full season for the Swiss Jenzer Motorsport team, who competes in the Italian Formula 4 Championship. He had to get used to that kind of car, but by the middle of the season, he finished in a season best 8th place. He was just outside the top 10 quite a few times.

But it was a tough field to compete in. Drivers like Enzo Fittipaldi, Leonardo Lorandi, Oliver Caldwell, Gianluca Petecof and Niklas Krütten from the ADAC Formula 4 did a double programme, and all finished ahead of the Dane in the Championship.

Oliver Rasmussen
Photo: Prema Theodore Racing

But now it’s time for Rasmussen to double up. The young Dane has signed for Prema Theodore Racing, who are the defending champions in the Italian F4 series with Fittipaldi, and also finished third in the German ADAC Formula 4 series. They also won the 2018 FIA European Formula 3 Championship with Mick Schumacher, and was amongst the front runners in the FIA Formula 2 Championship.

You often need to have a season of experience in the Formula 4 series behind you, before the big results starts coming. With the move to Prema Theodore Racing, Oliver Rasmussen has secured all the opportunities to get top results, so it’s just down to him to perform behind the wheel.

During the previous two seasons we had fellow Dane Frederik Vesti competing in the ADAC Formula 4, and prior to him, Nicklas Nielsen was competing for a few years. Both of them have now moved on to other series.

The ADAC Formula 4 season starts on 26-28 April in Oschersleben, while the Italian F4 Championship Powered by Abarth starts the following weekend at Vallelunga.

Related Posts