SPM presents the cars

Schmidt Peterson Motorsports has their design for the upcoming NTT IndyCar Series 2019 season.

The team has expanded their collaboration with Arrow Electronics, so their official name throughout 2019 will be Arrow Schmidt Peterson Motorsports.

As previously announced, the team will have James Hinchcliffe continuing to run car #5, while the former Formula 1 driver Marcus Ericsson, will drive car #7.

Arrow SPM 2019
Photo: SPM Motorsports

But hey – there are three cars in the picture?

Yes, the team continues to have car #6 reserved for Robert Wickens, who had the violent accident in Pocono 2018, where he damaged his back, so he currently sits in a wheel char, but is in full recovery mode. The doctors hope that the nerves will grow back together, but it can last up to 24 months after the accident, before they know if it’s successful or not. But until then, car #6 will be reserved just for him, with nobody else being able to use that.

Marcus Ericsson & James Hinchcliffe
Photo: SPM Motorsports

Arrow Electronics is an old partner of the team. Team owner Sam Schmidt is tied to a wheel chair himself, but is totally paralysed from the neck down. Arrow developed a car that he could control via a mouth piece, which he either blows or sucks into, to make the car go faster or brake. He managed to get the car up to 100 mph during the public presentation of the car, with him controlling the car all by himself.

He did actually also compete on the mountain at the Pikes Peak race, and that at quite a rapid pace.

SPM will also help out Meyer Shank Racing with Jack Harvey, for their Indycar programme, but he will be driving in their own AutoNation/SiriusXM colours on car #60.

The NTT IndyCar Series 2019 season starts on 10 March in St. Petersburg, Florida.

Related Posts