Close racing between the armcos

The second round of the 2019 Porsche Mobil 1 Supercup was run on the streets of Monaco.

Michael Ammermüller started from Pole Position in front of Mikkel Overgaard Pedersen, Larry ten Voorde and Florian Latorre. Initially, ten Voorde had the Pole, but the Dutchman had set his fastest time under yellow flag and got relegated to P3, as his second best yet legal laptime placed him.

The start went unusually well, where nobody was in trouble through the first corner, which wasn’t normally the case for PMSC in Monaco.

Michael Ammermüller, Mikkel Overgaard Pedersen, Larry ten Voorde
Photo: Porsche Motorsport

Ammermüller and Pedersen pulled away from the rest, with two seconds gap to ten Voorde, who himself had a gap of one second to Latorre in P4.

The first problem arose on lap p9, where Michael Verhagen spun around in the Rascasse Corner, but he could drive the car back to the pits.

Pedersen put a hard pressure on Ammermüller, but he couldn’t come close enough to really have a go.

Dylan Pereira hit the wall in Sainte Devote after ten laps, when he came way too fast through the corner. He lost control of the car, tried to correct it but then slid sideways and ended up hitting the wall. He drove a little bit up the hill, but had to park the car – and deployed a Safety Car.

Dylan Pereira
Photo: Porsche Motorsport

After a quick clean-up, the race was restarted.

Mikkel O. was breathing down the defending PMSC champion’s neck, but on the narrow streets of Monaco being close to an opponent is one thing, overtaking him is another.

Joey Mawson spun by himself in the Rascasse Corner on the penultimate lap, but he could continue to drive – after shortly blocking Gianmarco Quaresmini.

Michael Ammermüller won the race, ahead of Mikkel Overgaard Pedersen and Larry ten Voorde.

Marius Nakken
Photo: Porsche Motorsport

The victory is Ammermüller’s eighth, while it’s the first time for Pedersen to be on a Porsche Mobil 1 Supercup podium.

Michael Ammermüller is leading the championship, ahead of Ayhancan Güven, Julien Andlauer and Mikkel O. Pedersen. Güven and Andlauer finished the race on fifth and seventh positions respectively.

The next round of PMSC will be run in a month time at Red Bull Ring in Austria.

Related Posts