Formula E 2019/20 schedule announced

ABB FIA Formula E Championship has announced their 2019/20 racing schedule.

The majority of the races are current events, but South Korea is a new addition. London returns after a few years out. And then we have two TBC races on the calendar so far.

The race on 14 December clashes with the FIA World Endurance Championship race in Bahrain, so that puts drivers like Sebastien Buemi and Sam Bird in a difficult situation, if they choose to continue at Nissan e.dams and Envision Virgin Racing respectively – that is if the race actually will happen.

But on 3 May 2020 there is a clash with the FIA WEC race at Spa Francorchamps, when Formula E goes to South Korea.

So that makes it impossible for those two drivers to do both, if they want to win the championship in both series.

Lucas Di Grassi
Photo: ABB FIA Formula E

Another new thing is that Attack Mode can be taken when there is Safety Car or Full Course Yellow in place. That’s a thing that the drivers has loved to do this year, to prevent them self from being overtaken by the guys behind, plus it forces the other drivers into doing the same – at least if you are in a long Safety Car cue. Attack Mode will also be turned up from 225kW to 235kW.

The lifespan on the current Gen2 cars will be extended by another year, so Season 8 will be included i.e. 2021/2022. But it’s not out of the questions for the cars to get a few design tweaks plus electronic or battery updates. We saw the Gen1 cars suddenly growing a new front wing for Season 3, so it’s something similar that’s possible during the next three years.

The 2019/20 ABB FIA Formula E Championship calendar was approved as follows:

22 November 2019 Saudi Arabia Ad Diriyah**
23 November 2019 Saudi Arabia Ad Diriyah
14 December 2019 TBC TBC
18 January 2020 Chile Santiago de Chile*
15 February 2020 Mexico Mexico City*
01 March 2020 China Hong Kong*
21 March 2020 China TBC*
4 April 2020 Italy Rome
18 April 2020 France Paris
3 May 2020 South Korea Seoul*
30 May 2020 Germany Berlin
20 June 2020 USA New York
25 July 2020 United Kingdom London*
26 July 2020 United Kingdom London*

Related Posts