Mercedes present colors and drivers

Mercedes-Benz EQ Formula E Team has presented their brand new ABB FIA Formula E Championship car, as well as their two drivers.

The team has decided to call the Mercedes-Benz EQ Silver Arrow 01, in their first season as a real works team in Formula E.

They dipped their toes in the water during the 2018/19 season, where they raced under the HWA Racelab banner. Stoffel Vandoorne and Gary Paffett were the drivers, but there has been some changes on those positions.

Belgium driver Stoffel Vandoorne will be joined by his Dutch neighbour Nyck de Vries, who will be a rookie in Formula E.

Mercedes-Benz EQ Silver Arrow 01
Photo: Mercedes Motorsport

Vandoorne has had somewhat of a changeable career. After winning the GP2 Championship, he was send to Japan to the Super Formula series, before he got a McLaren Formula 1 seat. He had to give up on that seat after two seasons, and then went to Formula E. He got a taste of sportscar racing in spring 2019, racing in the FIA World Endurance Championship, including finishing on the podium at the 24 Hours of Le Mans.

De Vries has had a bit of the same path, by racing in Formula 2, where he currently is leading the Championship, plus he had spiced the season up with a bit of LMP2 racing in the FIA WEC.

The ABB FIA Formula E Championship 2019/20 season starts on 22-23 November 2019 in Saudi Arabia.

Related Posts