Adjustments to the Formula E schedule

There are some adjustments to the ABB FIA Formula E Championship schedule for Season 6.

There has been quite a bit of mixing and matching to the original schedule, that was released 4 months ago.

The opening round and season finale has been left unchanged, but plenty of changes mid-season.

We got an almost two-month long break from the opening round in Saudi Arabia until Chile, with another month until the next race in Mexico.

The next few races are split by two or three weeks, until a one months break between race 9 and 10 in South Korea and Indonesia.

New York ePrix 2019
Photo: ABB FIA Formula E

The five final races of the year will run in just one and a half months, so it will be quite busy for the drivers, with 12 different venues from November until July.

This results in a lot of air miles during the 2019/20 season. From Middle East to South America, to North Africa to China, to Europe, to South East Asia, to Germany, to USA and the finally Great Britain.

With no race weekends being run two weekends in a row, there will be a lot of travelling for the mechanics and drivers, for every single round. If you put on the environmental glasses, that Formula E focus so much about with their Electric cars, it’s certainly not reflected in the schedule.

Formula 1 travels all over the place, but a series like the FIA World Endurance Championship goes to certain areas in the world consecutively, to minimize transportation costs – and that is something that Formula E should consider too, since not all teams outside Audi, Mercedes, Porsche and BMW have unlimited budgets. So they really have to take that into consideration for the following seasons.

The 2019/20 schedule looks like this:

Round City Country Date
1 Diriyah Saudi Arabia November 22, 2019
2 Diriyah Saudi Arabia November 23, 2019
3 Santiago* Chile January 18, 2020
4 Mexico City* Mexico February 15, 2020
5 Marrakesh Morocco February 29, 2020
6 Sanya China March 21, 2020
7 Rome Italy April 4, 2020
8 Paris France April 18, 2020
9 Seoul* South Korea May 3, 2020
10 Jakarta* Indonesia June 6, 2020
11 Berlin Germany June 21, 2020
12 New York City USA July 11, 2020
13 London* UK July 25, 2020
14 London* UK July 26, 2020

Related Posts