Toyota confirms Ogier, Evans & Rovanpera for 2020 WRC season.

Credit: Redbull content pool

Toyota have confirmed their driver line up for the 2020 season earlier this week, confirming the long held rumour that they had signed Sebastien Ogier and Elfyn Evans. There was an additional surprise as Toyota also announced that they had signed Kalle Rovanpera as well, son of Harri Rovanpera and WRC2 ace for Skoda for the past couple of years.

It is also sees Ogier & Evans reunited as team-mates once again, both drove together for Ford in 2018.

Toyota has also signed Ogier, Evans & Rovanpera for the 2021 season as well with a view to retaining a strong driver line-up going into the new regulations. The revised driver line up sees Kris Meeke & Jari-Matti Latvala displaced from Toyota and currently without a drive for the 2020 season.

At this moment in time, the driver market in WRC is still up in the air, Citroens departure has reduced the number of seats with Ford having the only seats in town at the moment. Meeke, Latvala & 2019 Citroen second driver Esapekka Lappi are all without a drive for the 2020 season and it is unclear where they will end up in terms of a drive.

Toyota are currently the only team to fully confirm their driver line up for the 2020 season, Hyundai have confirmed Ott Tanak but have yet to confirm who he will be driving alongside. Ford have yet to announce any of their drivers for the 2020 season, but competition is hot for Ford’s seats and Malcolm Wilson and the boys and girls at M Sport stand to have a good pool of drivers to draw from.

Related Posts