JDC-Miller announces second car

JDC-Miller Motorsports has announced the drivers for their second car for the IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship season opener 2020.

Matheus Leist will share the car with  Juan Piedrahita and Chris Miller at the Daytona 24 Hours in January. Leist and Piedrahita will also share the car at the Sebring 12 Hours, Watkins Glen 6 Hours and Petit Le Mans 10 Hours. Piedrahita hopes to do more races in the Cadillac DPi-V.R #85 car.

Leist has most recently been racing in the NTT IndyCar Series for A. J. Foyt Enterprises, but that door appears to close for the 2020 season. The 21-year-old Brazilian has never lacked sponsor backing, so he will no doubt bring some of that to JDC.

JDC-Miller Motorsports #85
Photo: JJ Media

Colombian driver Piedrahita had four starts from the team in 2019. He did the four Michelin Endurance Cup rounds with a mix of running the #84 and #85 car. He shared the car with Miller at Daytona.

Miller won the Daytona 24 Hours in 2016, when he raced in the LMPC category for JDC-Miller Motorsports.

It’s not yet clear exactly how many races that Piedrahita will do, nor who will be his teammates at the sprint rounds.

To be fair, it’s not a driver line-up that is likely to cause any issues for the other Cadillac teams, not to mention Mazda or Acura. But if they can keep the car on the road, without driver errors or technical issues, there might be a top-5 out there, if some of the other teams are failing.

The Daytona 24 Hours will be run on 25-26 January 2020.

Related Posts