BMW confirms IMSA drivers

BMW Team RLL has confirmed the 8 drivers, who are going to race for them in the IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship 2020.

The majority of the drivers are well-known faces, but Bruno Spengler will be the new full-season driver in #25, saying goodbye to DTM after 15 seasons for BMW and Mercedes.

Spengler will share BMW M8 GTE #25 with Connor De Phillippi throughout the season, with added help from Philipp Eng and Colton Herta i #25 during the Daytona 24 Hours.

John Edwards and Jesse Krohn will continue working together in #24, with Chaz Mostert and Augusto Farfus added in for the opening round.

BMW will say goodbye to Tom Blomqvist, who is no longer a part of the BMW family. The Brit with Swedish father has raced 5 seasons for the German brand, in a mix of DTM, Formula E, WEC and IMSA.

It’s not yet announced if it’s Eng or Herta – nor Mostert or Farfus who will do the other endurance rounds in the IMSA series.

Jesse Krohn, John Edwards, Bruno Spengler, Connor De Phillippi
Photo: BMW Motorsport

This will be the third season for the BMW M8 GTE in competition, but it’s been a tough ride so far. They only claimed a single win in 2019, and that was at the Daytona 24 Hours. They got two wins in 2018, with a few more podium spots added in. The team pulled out of the FIA WEC after just a single season, where they only stood on the podium once in 8 starts.

They will, however, continue their fight in the USA, which is a huge market for the M8 model.

The team has already tested at Sebring, with their next test happening at Daytona, during the ROAR Before The 24 test on 3-5 January 2020.

Related Posts