WRC news: Ford M-Sport confirms 2020 driver line-up.

Credit: Red Bull Content Pool.

After a long period of speculation within the WRC paddock and community, Ford M-Sport has confirmed its driver line up for the 2020 WRC season. Former Citroen driver Esapekka Lappi is confirmed as the teams new lead driver, replacing Elfyn Evans who completed the move to Toyota at the end of 2019.

Ford confirmed that they will retain young Finnish driver Teemu Sunninen for a second season as their second driver. Sunninen showed flashes of brilliance in the 2019 season and Sunninen will likely build on the steady form he showed throughout 2019. 

In addition to Sunninen, Ford has elected to expand Gus Greensmiths outings in their third car for the 2020 season. Greensmith, an emerging talent who had a strong season in the M-Sport run WRC2 category Fiesta and had a few outings in the WRC in 2019, will contest nine rounds of the championship.

Ford has once again shown its faith in the rising stars of the sport for the 2020 season, with the M-Sport Ford squad fielding the youngest ever driving line-up in WRC history. The combined age of the driving line up is just 76 years, Lappi the eldest at 28 years old, Sunninen 25 & Greensmith just 23 years old.

The WRC will have its public season launch at the Autosport international show on January 10th at the National Exhibition Centre in Birmingham, England.

The first round of the WRC season will take place in Monte Carlo running from the 23rd to the 26th of January.

Credit: Red Bull content pool

Related Posts