No changes at Audi

Audi Sport will continue unchanged in the 2020 DTM season.

After several months of speculation about the team and their involvement in the series, they have confirmed that there are no changes regarding the 6 “works-seats”.

It will once again be double DTM Champion Rene Rast, DTM Champion Mike Rockenfeller, FIA WEC World Champion Loic Duval plus Robin Frijns, Nico Müller and Jamie Green, who will race for Audi Sport Team Rosberg, Audi Sport Team Phoenix and Audi Sport Abt Sportsline.

In addition to that, Audi Sport Team WRT will bring two “costumer-cars”, with Fabio Scherer and Ed Jones behind the wheel. That was announced by WRT just over a month ago.

Rene Rast, Jamie Green, Nico Müller, Loic Duval, Mike Rockenfeller, Robin Frijns
Photo: Audi Motorsport

All Audi drivers will go to a fitness camp next week at Lanzarote, before the first testing of 2020 will be at Monza on 16-18 March, which is one of the locations for a race weekend later in the year.

BMW has confirmed 5 drivers so far, and one more is expected – unless they suddenly ramp up their programme, following R-Motorsport pulling out of the series. We still don’t know if any of the Japanese teams are interested in the 2020 season, but we will know a lot more within the next month, since everything has to be in place for the Monza test in March.

The DTM 2020 season itself starts on 25-26 April at Zolder in Belgium.

Related Posts