Jaguar I-PACE eTrophy closes after Season 2

Jaguar has chosen to close their I-PACE eTrophy series, at the end of Season 2.

The series is based on the I-PACE model, which is an all-electric vehicle, with the plans of 20 cars to compete against each other.

The 2018/19 had the prominent name of Rahal Letterman Lanigan as one of the teams, running two cars. Bobby Rahal is a Jaguar dealer in the USA, so it was a natural choice. Despite their huge commitment, various technical difficulties, with added crash damage and disqualifications, resulted in neither Bryan Sellers nor Katherine Legge becoming champion. That title went to Sergio Jimenez from Team Brazil.

While the plan was to get 20 cars on the grid, the series had a tough battle of even keeping it in double digits. Jaguar even entered two VIP cars on various occasions, to get the numbers up.

Caca Bueno, Sergio Jimenez, Bryan Sellers, Simon Evans
Photo: Jaguar Racing

The tough Season Two has turned even harder. After three of nice planned rounds (which definitely will be reduced due to COVID-19), only three professional drivers have competed in all three rounds, with just Sergio Jimenez and Simon Evans having a real shot at the Championship. Alice Powell already has such a gap to the two leaders, that they both have to retire at one round, while she is winning – in addition to her winning another round, the pair not finishing in top 3…

It doesn’t look much better in the Pro-Am Championship, where only two drivers have done all three rounds so far. made an editorial decision already prior to the season, that no coverage of the series would be provided this year. This made on the basis of the very weak entry list, that was presented ahead of the season.

It’s still unsure exactly how the ABB FIA Formula E Championship, of which Jaguar I-PACE eTrophy is the support series for, will close out their 2019/20 season, so, therefore, it’s still unsure exactly how many I-PACE races that are left.

Jaguar states that their commitment to Formula E will remain unchanged, in which they are currently competing for the fourth season.

Related Posts