Final season for Acura Team Penske

Acura Team Penske is currently competing in their final season together for now.

The DPi team in the IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship is the defending champion in the category, but when the 12 Hours of Sebring is run in November 2020, they will end their collaboration.

They two parties started working together in 2017, where the ARX-05 model was created on the basis of the ORECA 07 LMP2 car. They did a single race in 2017, in an ORECA 07 LMP2 car, so the team could gain some sportscar experience before they entered Daytona 2018.

The team won their first race in the fourth race start in 2018, with three more to follow until now. The victory was won by Ricky Taylor and Helio Castroneves, while Juan Pablo Montoya and Dane Cameron took the three wins on route to their 2019 championship win.

The cars will be made available for other teams in 2021, if somebody else wishes to run them.

Acura Team Penske #7 Photo: JJ Media

Team Penske has been active in sportscars several times. Prior to the Acura programme, they ran for Porsche in North America with the RS Spyder from 2006 to 2008 and returned with Acura just shy of 10 years later.

It is expected for Penske to soon reappear in the sportscar world again, when the new LMDh rules will be implemented in 2022. Roger Penske has expressed a very big interest about the 24 Hours of Le Mans recently, and he would love to return to the French track.

Prior to entering DPi, there was Acura LMP2 and LMP1 cars, who fought against Penske amongst many other teams.

There are six remaining rounds of the 2020 championship, with the two cars currently sitting 6th and 8th in the standings.

Related Posts