Scuderia Corsa back to their roots

Scuderia Corsa will to their roots for the 2021 edition of the Rolex 24 at Daytona.

They have been racing under the WeatherTech Racing banner for the previous three seasons, in the white colours of the main sponsor.

They will return to the classic red colours once again, with car number 63 on the Ferrari 488 GT3, just like they had in 2016 and 2017, where they won the championship two years in a row with Christina Nielsen and Alessandro Balzan.

The programme is only confirmed for Daytona, and doesn’t mention anything about the rest of the season.

The four chosen drivers for the race will be Marcos Gomes, Ed Jones, Brett Curtis and Ryan Briscoe.

Jones is the only one of the four, who hasn’t raced the Daytona race before. He does, however, have experience from the Dubai 24 hours, in which he finished second in 2015. He went on to race in the NTT IndyCar Series, but never really got to grips with the series.

Marcos Gomes has previously raced for the team in 2014 and 2015, plus he was on Pole Position for the 2019 edition with Via Italian Racing.

Scuderia Corsa Ferrari #63
Graphics: Andy Blackmore

Brett Curtis has previously been the third driver on the team, during the 24 Hours of Le Mans, in addition to a GT World Challenge programme for the team. He is rated Bronze driver, so he is not the one to do the fastest laps of the car, but he is still an important part of the team, since he needs to keep the laptimes as fast as possible.

Ryan Briscoe faces a brand new challenge. He was Ford Chip Ganassi Racing driver through four seasons in GTLM, but raced DP/DPi cars both previously and following his CGR contract, which is the top category in IMSA racing. He will jump into the slowest category of them all, in a car type that he never has raced before. He does, however, have so much experience, that he quickly should be able to adapt, especially with help from Gomes, who has done so much Ferrari racing, including the Asian Le Mans Series.

The ROAR test ahead of the 24-hour race itself will be run on 22-24 January, with the race start one week later.

Related Posts