UA confirms 2022 IMSA participation

United Autosports will return to the IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship 2022, where the English-American team once again will race an LMP2 car.

The programme will consist of the four races, that count towards the Michelin Endurance Cup. That is the Rolex 24 at Daytona, Sebring 12 Hours, 6 Hours at the Glen, and the 10 hours of Petit Le Mans at Michelin Raceway Road Atlanta.

The team is ready to confirm Jim McGuire and Guy Smith for another season in the ORECA 07 Gibson, while the third full-season driver will be announced at a latter stage, just like the fourth driver for Daytona.

United Autosports #22
Photo Courtesy of IMSA / Richard Dole

The team was active in the series in 2021 as well, but skipped the Daytona round in January. The car was shared by McGuire and Smith alongside Wayne Boyd. Boyd will however be upgraded to a Gold-ranked driver in 2022, so he can’t be the third driver on car #22 any longer. So they need a new Silver-ranked driver. Boyd is allowed at Daytona – but a Silver is still needed for that particular race.

Despite the team not racing Daytona in 2021, they still have some experience to count on in the endurance classic. They entered two cars in 2018, with a star-studded line-up. Lando Norris, Fernando Alonso and Phil Hanson shared one car, while Will Owen, Hugo de Sadeleer, Paul Di Resta and Bruno Senna raced the other. The latter pairing finished fourth overall, and as second best LMP2 team – but since DPi and LMP2 raced in the same category in 2018, there were no trophies for the team. The second car was plagued by technical issues, and finished the race many laps down.

The 2022 IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship season appears to grow even further, with several over European teams acknowledge their arrival. It’s only a couple of weeks since High Class Racing announced their entry, while Racing Team Nederland is expected to race in USA as well.

The 2022 season starts at Daytona International Speedway on 21. January, with the ROAR Before the 24, with the race being held the following weekend.

Related Posts