Small changes at WTR

There will only be minor changes at Konica Minolta Wayne Taylor Racing in the IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship 2022.

The team finished second in the standings in 2021 with Ricky Taylor and Filipe Albuquerque, and they will both continue their full-season campaign.

On top of finishing second in the overall DPi championship, there was a Michelin Endurance Cup title for the team, for being the best team at the four endurance rounds of the series. Taylor and Albuquerque were joined by Alexander Rossi for those. Rossi will be on the team again for the 24 hours race at Daytona in 2022, but will then focus solely on his NTT IndyCar Series programme for Andretti Autosport.

Graphics: Wayne Taylor Racing

So there will be a new third driver on the team. Will Stevens will be the new endurance driver of the Acura ARX-05 DPi car. Stevens is a former Formula 1 teammate to Rossi, but the Brit has more recently focused on sportscar racing. He was part of the Manor team in LMP2 in FIA World Endurance Championship, and has more recently raced for Panis Racing in the European Le Mans Series, including a Le Mans podium in 2021.

The WTR outfit has been a constant factor in the IMSA series, ever since Grand-Am and American Le Mans Series merged in 2014. They have won the 24 hours race at Daytona a total of four times in the last five years – and the year they didn’t win, was when Filipe Albuquerque took the win for Mustang Sampling Cadillac. It wasn’t however until 2021, that he joined the team, and took his second win.

The IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship will start in one month time at Daytona International Speedway, with the ROAR Before the 24 test being run, followed by the Rolex 24 at Daytona a week later.

Related Posts