Porsche back to previous FIA WEC line-up

Porsche has announced their drivers for the 2022 season in the FIA World Endurance Championship.

They will return to the good old line-up, which has given them plenty of success in both the FIA WEC and the 24 Hours of Le Mans in the GTE Pro category.

Car #91 will once again be raced by Gianmaria Bruni and Richard Lietz. Those two has been racing together since 2018, where Bruni came to Porsche from Ferrari. Lietz has been racing Porsche cars since 2004, and won the GTE Pro title in 2015, and has been one of the strongest drivers for the German car manufacturer ever since. They will be paired up with Frederic Makowiecki for Le Mans, which will be the only race of 2022, where they will bring a third driver. The 8-hour races at Sebring and in Bahrain will be run by two drivers only.

Porsche #92
Photo: JJ Media

Kevin Estre and Michael Christensen will be reunited in car #92. Estre and Christensen first shared the #92 in 2017, and won the 24 Hours of Le Mans together in 2018 with the “Pink Pig”, before claiming the World Championship title in the FIA WEC for the 2018/19 season, which that particular Le Mans was a part of. The third driver at that victory was Laurens Vanthoor, and he will be back as the third driver. The Belgium racer was left out of car #92 in 2021, since Christensen was paired up with Estre and Jani for that edition.

Neel Jani is no longer a part of the Porsche GT programme, but is currently only listed as reserve driver for their Formula E programme.

The FIA WEC 2022 is scheduled to start at Sebring in March, with both the Prologue test and the 8-hour race planned as the season opener.

Related Posts