Tower runs IMSA again

Tower Motorsport will once again run in the IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship for the 2022 season.

Team boss John Farano will return behind the wheel, but has swapped all his teammates for the ORECA 07 Gibson, just as he has changed the team running the car. Capone Motorsports has taken over from Starworks Motorsports, who has run the car until now.

Louis Deletraz will be the full-season driver alongside Farano throughout the 2022 season. Deletraz is the defending ELMS LMP2 Champion with Team WRT, and has LMP1 experience as well from Rebellion Racing.

Tower Motorsport #8
Graphics: Tower Motorsport

The team will run the full season in the LMP2 category, which consists of both the sprint and Michelin Endurance Cup races. Farano and Deletraz will be joined by another ELMS Champion for the four Michelin Endurance Cup races. Rui Andrade won the ELMS LMP2 Pro/Am title with G-Drive Racing, and is amongst the fastest talents in sportscar racing.

Ferdinand Habsburg will join the three for the Rolex 24 at Daytona. Habsburg is the defending FIA WEC LMP2 Champion with Team WRT, plus he ran a programme in the ELMS with Algarve Pro Racing in 2021. On top of that, he won the 24 Hours of Le Mans in August 2021. He was meant to race at Daytona in 2021 with High Class Racing, but the team retired before Austrian driver Habsburg got his shot in the race.

Tower Motorsport finished third in the LMP2 Championship in IMSA in 2021, while they were runner ups in the Michelin Endurance Cup.

The first race of the 2022 IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship season is the 24 hours race in Daytona on 29-30 January.

Related Posts