48 cars entered for Asian LMS 2023

Asian Le Mans Series have a huge season coming.

A total of 48 cars have been entered in 2023, which is a new record for the series.

The 2022 season was already a big success, with the series switching to two weeks of intensive running, split between two Middle Eastern tracks. That change was made due to the COVID-19 situation for the past few years, which has made travelling difficult. Dubai Autodrome and Yas Marina Circuit stepped in, with no quarantine being needed – as long as negative tests could be presented.

Nine cars have entered the LMP2 category. Well-known names such as DKR Engineering, United Autosports, Nielsen Racing, Algarve Pro Racing, COOL Racing, Inter Europol Competition and ARC Bratislava. The new kids on the block are 99 Racing, which races under the British flag, but that is the only information about the team so far. Nielsen Racing #24 is the defending champion in the category.

There is just a single Le Mans entry up for grabs in each category in 2023, so there will be some extra tough battling. All cars entered will be ORECA 07 Gibson, of the latest 2017 specification, with High Downforce kits.

There are 15 LMP3 cars entering the series. CD Sport, Nielsen Racing, DKR Engineering, GRAFF Racing, WTM Racing, RLR MSport, COOL Racing, 360 Racing, MV2S Racing, and Inter Europol Competition are all competitors from the European Le Mans Series and/or the Michelin Le Mans Cup.

The LMP3 category will consist of Ligier JS P320 and Duqueine M30- D08 with 12 vs 3. Sadly there won’t be any Ginetta or ADESS cars competing this season.

Yas Marina Circuit 2022
Photo: Asian Le Mans Series

24 GT3 cars have entered for this season. There is a good mix of names from ACO land, but also from teams with other GT experience. Getspeed, Leipert Motorsport, Dinamic GT, Orange Racing by JMH, and Pure Rxcing are new names on the entry list, while Haupt Racing Team, Herberth Motorsport, AF Corse, Walkenhorst Motorsport, Car Guy, Garage 59, Formula Racing, TF Sport, Viper Niza Racing, Bullitt Racing, HubAuto Racing, Kessel Racing and D’Station Racing all have competed before.

There are 5 Mercedes-AMG, 5 Aston Martin Vantage, and 5 Porsche 911s entered. On top of that, there will be four Ferrari 488 GT3, three McLaren 720S, a single BMW M4 GT3, and a single Lamborghini Huracan entered.

The series starts on 11 February 2023 at Dubai Autodrome and finishes off one week later at Yas Marina Circuit.

The full entry list can be found here.

Related Posts