Danish-Brazilian trio at JOTA

JOTA has announced the three drivers, who will try to repeat the FIA World Endurance Championship LMP2 title in the 2023 season.

Oliver Rasmussen will continue for the team, with David Heinemeier Hansson and Pietro Fittipaldi joining the Dane.

Rasmussen raced for the team in 2022, with the big highlight being the third-place finish at the 24 Hours of Le Mans, and another podium at the 6 Hours of Fuji.

DHH has previously raced for JOTA, not only once by twice. His first time with the team was in 2018 for the 24 Hours of Le Mans under the Jackie Chan DC Racing banner, which was run by JOTA for several years. JCDC had won a lot of entries thanks to Asian Le Mans Series titles, so he bought into a seat in a Ligier. Spring 2019 gave him another opportunity to join the team, with three races under the JCDC banner, but in the much more competitive ORECA – actually so competitive, that they won the first race.

JOTA #28
Photo: JJ Media

DHH was back in an LMP2 car again for the 2022 season, after a couple of seasons of absence. That comeback came at Inter Europol Competition with Pietro Fittipaldi as his teammate. Despite Le Mans not being given for ELMS teams, the team still secured an entry, but without much luck in the race. They managed to win at Sap Francorchamps later in the season, with Fabio Scherer as the third driver. Scherer will race in IMSA this year, so that makes it possible for the Danish-Danish-Brazilian combination.

Pietro is part of the Fittipaldi clan in motorsport. He has raced plenty of sportscar kilometres by now, despite being a test- and reserve driver for HAAS F1 Team, where he had a single start in 2020, following the scary Romain Grosjean accident in Bahrain. That role will continue in 2023 – where he by the way has another Danish teammate, in the shape of Kevin Magnussen.

JOTA won the 2022 title with Antonio Felix da Costa, Will Stevens and Roberto Gonzalez, including victory at the 24 Hours of Le Mans.

The opening round of the FIA World Endurance Championship will be run at Sebring International Raceway on 17 March, with testing during the days leading up to the 1000 Miles race.

Related Posts