32 cars in BTCC 2016

Dunlop MSA British Touring Car Championship will have a record field in the 2016 season.

32 cars have entered the legendary Touring Car series, where many big names have driven and won championships.

Defending champion Gordon Shedden starts the title defence in a brand new Honda Civic Type R and is once again teamed up with Matt Neal. Instead of the red and black colours in the previous seasons, the team will be orange due to a title sponsor change.

Photo: BTCC.net

This year Subaru enters the series. It will be two very experienced drivers behind the wheel in the shape of multiple Champions Jason Plato and Colin Turkington. In fact the cars were not even ready for the first official test today, so the team have to work really hard to be ready for the season opener in 1½ weeks.

The 2013 Champion Andrew Jordan has also changed team and car during the winter. He won the championship in a Honda Civic, but in 2015 he piloted a MG6. This year it will be a Ford Focus for Motorbase Performance.

Photo: BTCC.net

A total of 11 different brands will be present on the BTCC 2016 grid. BTCC has a concept where you can choose a common tube frame and then brand and style it to whatever brand you like. That’s also a part of the many different car models.

The 2016 champion will most likely be found among those 5 drivers that we have mentioned. But you’ll never know what happens during the 30 races over the 10 Rounds.

The complete list with drivers can be found here

Related Posts