Toyota, Signatech, Porsche and Porsche are champions

The 24 Hours of Le Mans 2019 was also the finale of the FIA World Endurance Championship 2018-19.

We wanted to honour the various champions in a separate article, so they didn’t just drown in the other article about the race itself.

Toyota Gazoo Racing #8 with Sebastien Buemi, Kazuki Nakajima and Fernando Alonso are the winners of the LMP World Endurance Driver Championship. Jose Maria Lopez, Kamui Kobayashi and Mike Conway in Toyota #7 finished second, while Gustavo Menezes and Thomas Laurent finished third in the Championship with Rebellion Racing #3. #8 won the race ahead of #7, while #3 finished third after various penalties and crash damage etc.

Toyota Gazoo Racing won the LMP1 World Endurance Championship ahead of Rebellion Racing, SMP Racing, Bykolles Racing Team, DragonSpeed and CEFC TRSM Racing.

Kazuki Nakajima, Sebastien Buemi & Fernando Alonso
Photo: JJ Media

LMP2 Drivers FIA Endurance Trophy was won by the Signatech Alpine Matmut #36 drivers Andre Negrao, Nicolas Lapierre and Pierre Thiriet, while Gabriel Aubry, Ho-Pin Tung and Stephane Richelmi in the Jackie Chan DC Racing #38 finished second, with Pastor Maldonado and Roberto Gonzalez finishing third. The three teams won, finished second and crashed out Sunday morning, respectively.

Signatech Alpine Matmut #36 won the LMP2 FIA World Endurance Teams Trophy ahead of Jackie Chan DC Racing #38 and #37. #37 retired Sunday morning with gearbox issues, but their luck was that DragonSpeed #31 crashed out Sunday morning – so the pair finished third and fourth

Signatech Alpine Matmut #36
Photo: JJ Media

Michael Christensen and Kevin Estre in Porsche #92 are the winners of the World Endurance GTE Drivers Championship. The Champions from last season, Alessandro Pier Guidi and James Calado finished second in the AF Corse Ferrari #51, while Richard Lietz and Gianmaria Bruni in Porsche #91 finished third in the World Championship. This is the first time since Tom Kristensen in 2013, where a Danish driver has won the World Championship in sportscars. When Nicki Thiim and Marco Sørensen won the GTE Pro title in 2016, it wasn’t an official world title. #92 finished the race on a disappointing 10th position due to a broken exhaust that needed replacing between Saturday and Sunday. #51 won the race and #91 finished the race in second.

Porsche won the World Endurance GTE Manufacturers Championship in a very convincing style over Ferrari, Ford, Aston Martin and BMW.

Porsche #92
Photo: JJ Media

The GTE Am Drivers FIA Endurance Trophy was won by Egidio Perfetti, Jörg Bergmeister and Patrick Lindsey in the Team Project 1 Porsche #56, with Christian Ried and Matt Campbell in the Dempsey-Proton Racing Porsche #77 second. It’s worth noting that they had absolutely zero points after four rounds, due to all the issues with their datalogger. Charlie Eastwood and Salih Yoluc finished third with TF Sport Aston Martin #90.

#56 finished the race in second position, while #77 finished 5th, and #90 crossed the finishing line all the way back in P12.

It was exactly the same top 3 in GTE Am Teams FIA Endurance Trophy standings.

Team Project 1 Porsche #56
Photo: JJ Media

All four championship winning teams will be back in the FIA World Endurance Championship again, when the Prologue will be run at Circuit de Catalunya next month – Team Project 1 Porsche has even expanded their team to two cars in 1 months time, when the Prologue is run at Circuit de Catalunya in just over one month time. Team Project 1 Porsche has even extended into a two-car team. wants to wish all the champions congratulations with the great titles, and the many hours of great racing throughout the season.

Related Posts