Formula E calendar and changes approved

The FIA World Motorsport Council has announced the coming rule changes and the calendar for the 2018/19 ABB FIA Formula E Championship season.

The series is turning more an more into a spring series, where 8 of the 12 rounds will be run between March and July. So it’s getting harder and harder for drivers to do multi programmes.

As it looks now, there are no date clashes with the FIA World Endurance Championship, but there are some Formula 1 clashes. The probably worst clash is Formula E in Berlin, Formula 1 in Monaco and Indy 500. There haven’t been drivers during the 2018 being active in two or three of these series, but you never know potential drivers could be running in the coming season.

There are a few holes in the calendar, with race, which doesn’t have a city or country designated. The January date is most likely between Uruguay with Punta del Este or Brazil with Sao Paolo. The latter should already have had a race in 2018, but the race was cancelled due to safety concerns, and was replaced by Uruguay.

Nico Rosberg, Gen2 car demo, Berlin 2018
Photo: Photo: ABB FIA Formula E Championship / LAT

On top of that, we will see some rule changes for the new cars. The Generation 2 cars will have a big enough battery capacity to do the full race, which will be 45 minutes + one lap.

Gen2 cars will have extra power during the race, where the standard power will be 200 kW. A new feature will appear in Formula E, which is some extra power book, where the driver will have to pass through a special assigned area of the track, and then they will have 225 kW in a period. This will of course zap some extra power from the battery, so the drivers will have to economize with the use of that. The numbers of these extra periods will vary from track to track, and will be announced prior to the events.

Fan Boost will continue to be a part of the Formula E. 3 selected drivers will have to drive through the special area, and will the be able to activate the Fan boost, and will have 250 kW.

All this is done to add excitement to the races, and hopefully more overtakings – because, when will the drivers dare to use the extra power.

There will be some changes to the qualifying, with 22 cars running next season. HWA has announced their entry in the upcoming Season 5, where they will prepare for Mercedes-AMG to enter as a full works team in the 2019/20 season. Six cars will be fighting for Pole Position, instead of the current five.

The new Jaguar I-PACE eTROPHY will also join the race events.

The calendar looks like this:

Ad Diriyah* Saudi Arabia December 15, 2018
Marrakesh Morocco January 12, 2019
TBA TBA January 26, 2019
Mexico City Mexico February 16, 2019
Hong Kong China March 10, 2019
TBA China March 23, 2019
Rome Italy April 13, 2019
Paris France April 27, 2019
Monaco* Monaco May 11, 2019
Berlin Germany May 25, 2019
Zurich** Switzerland June 9, 2019
New York City USA July 13, 2019
New York City USA July 14, 2019

Related Posts