More Formula E drivers signed for 2021

The ABB FIA Formula E Championship teams are slowly getting their deals finalized for 2021, which is planned to start in January.

Nissan e.dams has extended with Sebastien Buemi and Oliver Rowland, so both drivers will race for the team in the upcoming season. Buemi has raced for e.dams since the very first season, and if it wasn’t for his Toyota Gazoo Racing LMP1 commitment having priority, he would have raced every single event to date.

Rowland has raced for Nissan e.dams for the past two seasons, in addition to a single race for Mahindra Racing, and a lot of test- and development of the cars. He entered Formula E as Formula Renault 3,5 Champion in 2015, and then went on to finish third in the GP2 Championship in 2017 for DAMS.

The team has extended the contracts with Mitsunori Takaboshi as a test- and development driver, while Jann Mardenborough remains simulator driver.

Sebastien Buemi & Oliver Rowland
Photo: Nissan e.dams

ROKiT Venturi Racing already announced at the finale in Berlin, that Felipe Massa would no longer race for them. Edoardo Mortara on the other hand will continue, and will be joined by Norman Nato. Nato has been a test- and development driver for the team for the last few years, plus he had an outing in the Rookie test. But it will be a new thing for him to actually race an electric car. He is however used to alternative drivetrains, since he has run in the H24 hydrogen car, which is currently being developed for sportscar racing.

Mortara will start his fourth season in Formula E, after doing loads of DTM races for both Audi and Mercedes. It was his Mercedes connection that gave him the Formula E ride, since the Venturi team shares the drivetrain with Mercedes.

We already had previous announcements regarding Sam Bird and Mitch Evans confirmed at Jaguar Racing, Robin Frijns and Nick Cassidy at Envision Virgin Racing, Maximilian Günther for BMW i Andretti Motorsport, Alexander Sims for Mahindra Racing, plus Andre Lotterer and Pascal Wehrlein for TAG Heuer Porsche Formula E Team.

Season 7 of the ABB FIA Formula E Championship is planned to start on 16 January 2021 in Santiago, Chile.

Related Posts