Petit Le Mans with Newgarden and Vanthoor

Porsche Penske Motorsport has announced their three drivers for the years 10 hours race at Michelin Raceway Road Atlanta – also known as Petit Le Mans.

The team has had different third drivers for the endurance rounds this year. At Daytona and Sebring they were helped by the two FIA WEC drivers Dane Cameron and Michael Christensen in car #6 and #7 respectively.

There is a change regarding those seats, so Nick Tandy/Mathieu Jaminet in car #6, and Matt Campbell/Felipe Nasr in car #7 will have Laurens Vanthoor and Josef Newgarden as teammates.

Porsche Penske Motorsport #7
Photo Courtesy of IMSA / Geoffrey M. Miller

Vanthoor has a lot of IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship experience, but only from the GT categories. The Belgian racer started the season with Pfaff Motorsports, but has since then focused on FIA WEC, plus selected European GT3 races.

Newgarden was also a part of Daytona in January, but that was onboard the Tower Motorsports #8 LMP2 car. His focus moved on to NTT IndyCar Series, where he currently sits second. His big win of the year was the Indianapolis 500 victory in May.

This years Petit Le Mans will be run on 14 October 2023.

Related Posts