Small rule changes for Season 4

FIA Formula E Championship og FIA have announced a few rule changes for Season 4, which will start in December this year.

During the first seasons of the the Championship, there was a Championship point handed out for the fastest lap of the race – regardless of the driver completed the race or not. That played a deciding factor in the 2015/16, where Lucas Di Grassi and Sebastien Buemi crashed in turn one, and then went on the hunt for that single point, which eventually gave Buemi the Championship.

Through the 2016/17 there wasn’t a single race, where a driver finishing in the top-10, scoring that additional point for the VISA Fastest Lap, which is the official name for the fastest lap. Now it has been decided that only top-10 finishing cars are eligible for scoring that point.

There will be a bit more power for the cars during the race, where the power level of the cars will be turned up from 170 to 180 kW. That will be result in faster lap times and hopefully more action on the track.

FIA Formula E Julius Baer Mexico City ePrix
Photo: Alastair Staley/LAT/Formula E

On the weekends with a double round, one of the practice sessions will be cancelled, since the cars already have had plenty of time on the track. Instead there will be two more test days during the season – one for all the drivers and one reserved for the Rookies in the Championship.

The teams will have the option to have a total of six promotional days, where maximum three of those may be at a race track.

Finally the list of teams for the 2017/18 was announced. There are no surprises about those teams, but only a few tweaks in the team names:


Andretti Formula E

Audi Sport ABT Schaeffler

Dragon Racing

DS Virgin Racing

Mahindra Racing

NIO Formula E Team

Panasonic Jaguar Racing

Renault e.dams


Venturi Formula E Team


The season will start on December 2nd in Hong Kong.

Related Posts